Posted by: katlea611 | January 7, 2013

Goals for 2013

It’s not easy coming up with goals for the entire year.  For one, I hate disappointing myself.  When my goals are not met, I obsess about it, wonder what went wrong, wonder why I didn’t accomplish it.. well, you get the general idea.  So I suppose this year, I’ll just keep it simple.  I’ll keep it achievable and reasonable.  Yup.  I think that’s a good plan.

So this year, here are our goals (keeping fingers crossed):

1. Homeschool, homeschool, homeschool.  Sometimes, I get so busy during the day that I procrastinate.  It’s not easy at all being a mom to a student, an ASD kid and a toddler who’s breastfed.  Add to that equation having no helper at all so I have to do chores and all that.  So, homeschooling becomes second priority.  But I don’t think that’s the right thing to do.  This year, we’re going to make homeschooling an absolute priority, especially since we have decided that Nikki will discontinue regular school and go back to full-time homeschooling next school year.  It will not be practical anymore because we’re spending for 2 tuitions and after checking our finances a few days ago, it will not be feasible this year. So Nikki will be back homeschooling and I am excited.  I got very frustrated with his lessons in traditional school.  They don’t have art class (they only color pictures!), tackle the very basic music lessons (which we already studied years back) and their English lessons are rudimentary.  I got frustrated when I followed Nikki’s progress and saw that they only answered half of their English text book when it’s already the 4th grading period!! So, no more. It’s not worth it any more.  We’ll take our chance with homeschooling again.  At least I’m sure that he’s learning as much as he could for the same amount of time.  So yeah, next year, everyone’s homeschooling!

2. Take it a lesson at a time.  With Ethan, I get easily frustrated when I assume he should know his lessons and he doesn’t understand.  I have to remind myself about his condition and force myself to be more patient and understanding.  I tell myself to attack the lesson from a different way and try to cater to Ethan’s learning style.  Also, I tell myself to not give a damn about what other people think about my kid.  I’M the mom, I know him best and I know what’s best for him.  So they can all shut it.

3. Read more books.  I have to take the time everyday (even for just a few minutes) to read books that will help me discipline, teach, and parent my kids.  I know I can trust my gut feeling from time to time but a little advice never hurt. 

4. Make sure to bring the kids out once a month. Sometimes, when we homeschool, we forget about getting out into the world.  We either a.) get too busy; b.)do not have the money; or c.) just feel lazy.  I know that kids should learn about the world and the only way to do that is to actually go OUT so that we’re doing.

5. Teach Nikki how to ride a bike.  We tried teaching him years before but he got scared when he toppled with the bike one time as he was making a turn.  Since then, he’s been very wary about having his training wheels removed.

6. Find a way to make Ethan eat more food.  This has been a perennial problem for us. Adding a couple of new food to his regular meal will be such a achievement.  And I hope he starts eating rice this year.

These are all I could think of for now.  I would probably edit this as I think/recall/remember other things I would like to add here.  Nevertheless, these will most likely keep me busy most of the year.

Leave a Reply

Categories