Posted by: katlea611 | May 28, 2012

A Decision

Finally, Nikki has come to a decision regarding his education.  As always, I try to encourage my boys to decide what they want for themselves.  I simply give them the options and the pros and cons and they come up with the decision – with some guidance from me, of course.  And he has decided to continue with blended learning.

I know I haven’t posted about it here because I was so busy and was gone from the blogging world for a time, but last year, Nikki tried blended learning.  In case you’re wondering what that is, it’s basically a combination of classroom learning and other types of learning (homeschooling, computer, etc). The year before that (2010-2011) Nikki joined a homeschooling group once a week at Alabang.  Although it was nice meeting other homeschooling families and although he learned a lot in Music and Arts, Nikki was not able to find his niche there since the original kids of the group already formed friendships.  So, it did not help him with his shyness. So, my husband and I talked about it and decided that for schoolyear 2011-2012, we would enroll Nikki in a nearby school so he’d have the discipline, the interaction, the interpersonal skills he needs and then we’d continue with our homeschooling lessons at home.  It was of course, challenging but we managed.  Nikki came out of his shell (though he’s still shy) and learned to speak up and to make his opinions heard.  Since we were homeschooling at the same time, I wasn’t worried about errors in the school’s teaching, which to be honest, happened several times.  Since our purpose was to expose him to life experiences, we figured, we’ll focus on lessons when we homeschool and his life in school will be sort of his extra-curricular activity.  It was actually nice because he got to experience what it was like to fall in line for flag ceremony, to wait to be called in class, to celebrate school activities like Intramurals, Linggo ng Wika and Christmas Parties, and to have friends who are reliable and good.  Since I saw much improvement in his self-confidence, I was really pleased that he’s picking blended learning this schoolyear as well.

So, although it will be tough on me this schoolyear since Ethan will be starting Grade 1 and I will be homeschooling him, I know that this is the best for my boys.  I just hope that we’ll be able to find the time, money and drive to do this the whole year! Wish us luck! 😀

Responses

  1. So glad to hear your son made great strides in becoming more bold. I know he must feel really good. My DD is a bit of a loaner and private, so when we let her go back to public school at the start of last year, the teachers thought she was strange and unscocial because she was quiet. The other kids were all pretty dramatic. The couldn’t understand which really upset me. We ended up pulling her back out of public school and picked back up with homeschooling. It is a much better fit for us.

    We use Time4Learning. I like it because they do the lesson planning and record keeping for me, and they allow my daughter access to 3 grade levels within each subject. That helps because she is behind in math, but ahead in language. We supplement with whatever she is interested in learning more about. It works for us.

    I am sure you will be able to fall into a good rhythm with the boys as time goes by. I wish you much luck!

    Joyfully,
    Jackie
    My Attempt at Blogging
    Quaint Scribbles and 3 D Learners

    • Hello Jackie!

      Thanks for writing. Like you, I sometimes feel do not try to understand kids for who they are. I was thinking of using Time 4 Learning for my son as well, but well, we were worried that we wouldn’t be able to pay for it later on because we’re on a single income. Hopefully, we’ll simply have to make the most of what we have and then leave the rest to God.

      Regards,
      Lea

      • Sure understand that, Lea. I think they do give a discount if you pay quarterly, that is what I do. You can write a review on your blog for a free month. If you refer others, they give you $25 after they have been enrolled one month. I’ve done that one, too!

        God will most surely make a way for you. It wil all workout.

      • Hi Jackie!

        Yes, I really really want the boys to try Time 4 Learning, especially my eldest because he likes computers and wouldn’t mind doing the worksheets and reading the lessons online. Will try what you suggested. Didn’t know about that! 😀 Thanks!

        Lea


Leave a Reply

Categories