Posted by: katlea611 | October 9, 2009

Mahjong

Today I taught the boys how to play mahjong.  No, not the adult version, just the solitaire version, the one my cousins and I used to play when we were kids.  My grandmother did not want us to learn the real game even if she and her friends had mahjong sessions once a week.  We were always told to play someplace else and I never learned until probably 2 years ago.  Anyway, my cousins and I still had fun playing the solitaire version and I thought that Nikki would want to try it today.  It only took one game and he was hooked.  We played 2 games and not only did he have fun, he could read the 1-9 Chinese characters on the tile.  Galing.  Anyway, after our second game, Ethan wanted in.  That was surprising because he usually doesn’t want to join us in games, gameboards, Wii or otherwise.   So we did two more games after that and then it was their naptime.  When they woke up Nikki wanted another game!  It was nice to see him so interested in something new.  Anyway, when we spoke to their dad tonight, Nikki told him all about the mahjong.  I’m sure we’ll be playing more mahjong solitaire tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories