Posted by: katlea611 | April 18, 2009

Back from the Hospital

In case you are wondering where I was for the past few days, well, we just got back from the hospital yesterday. Nikki started to develop a fever last Friday afternoon and it didn’t want to go away so by Sunday, we brought Nikki to the hospital and I requested for a complete blood count and a urinalysis. The urinalysis was okay but the CBC wasn’t. His white blood cell count was too high (sign of infection), his red blood cells, hematocrit and hemoglobin was below normal.

So, he had to be admitted. He needed a transfusion but his fever refused to go away for 2 days that I was getting worried. My mom was so worried too. I think she practically contacted everyone she knew to ask them to pray for him. Ruther was worried too and I messaged him every once in a while to keep him updated. When Nikki slept and when my parents would go home with Ethan and I would be alone in the hospital, I would cry from frustration, sadness, exhaustion and despair at Nikki’s condition. I just didn’t know what to do anymore. But Wednesday morning he started to lose the fever with repeated sponging and he took his first transfusion. After that he just got better and better and after the second transfusion yesterday, we were allowed to leave the hospital. It was such a relief. Even if the doctors couldn’t tell me what the cause of the fever was, why the fever wouldn’t go away for 5 days, and why his hemoglobin, RBC and hematocrit plummeted, it was still a relief to be out of the hospital.

Although Nikki is home right now, I’m still worried about his blood. When we get to Manila tomorrow I’ll have another CBC done and then if he does get normal results, only then will I start to breathe easier. We’re also going to visit his hematologist (I’m going to make an appointment) and I’ll be showing him the lab results during Nikki’s hospitalization and hopefully he’ll be able to answer any and all questions I might have about what happened to Nikki these past few days.


Leave a comment

Categories