Posted by: katlea611 | February 25, 2008

Today’s Lessons

We just finished with our lessons tonight and I am happy with the workload.  I got Ethan this book that’s great in teaching him the upper and lowercase letters (will post a photo of that later).  Again, I will repeat that my youngest boy does not like the traditional way of studying (worksheets, “classroom” setting, etc.) so I always have to be creative in my lessons with him.  Anyway, that was what basically kept him busy tonight, as well as some doodling and some book browsing (he cannot read yet).

With Nikki, we did a lot and I was quite happy and proud of him.  We started with ordinals/ordinal numbers.  He used to have some difficulty understanding that and then suddenly, he knew what I was talking about.  Really astonishing! After that, we did a worksheet on the correct usage of “do” and “does”.  Then we did skip counting (by 2’s, 5’s and 10’s).  He had some difficulty with the 2’s because this was his first time to count that way.  Counting by 5’s was easier because I introduced him to time already.  But he did not have any difficulty counting by 10’s because he has this Sesame Street book that helped him with that.  Since he was still having some difficulty with the 2’s, I decided not to push it and just get back to it next time.  While we were counting, I asked him to count 1-20 in Nihongo as a review.  And we did it together.  He of course, remembered more than I did.  But that’s okay.  I’ll review my Nihongo later on. 🙂   After that, we did a couple of lessons that needed cutting and pasting.  Nikki loves that so we did one worksheet on Rhymes (you paste rhyming words together like puzzle pieces) and the other worksheet was Opposites.  Then we did a couple more worksheets and then we were done for the night.

I know that compared to our workload before, I’m adding more lessons everyday for Nikki.  I’m still not doing it drastically but I hope that we will still be able to do it gradually enough for him to adjust and still enjoy our lessons.

Well, that’s it and for now, Good Night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories